CLASSIFICATION OF COUNTRIES BY MAJOR AREA AND REGION OF THE WORLD

Africa

Eastern Africa	Middle Africa	Northern Africa	Western Africa
Burundi	Angola	Algeria	Benin
Comoros	Cameroon	Egypt	Burkina Faso
Djibouti	Central African Republic	Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	Cape Verde
Eritrea	Chad	Morocco	Côte d'Ivoire
Ethiopia	Congo	Sudan ¹	Gambia
Kenya	Democratic Republic of the	Tunisia	Ghana
Madagascar	Congo	Western Sahara	Guinea
Malawi	Equatorial Guinea		Guinea-Bissau
Mauritius ²	Gabon	Southern Africa	Liberia
Mayotte	São Tomé and Príncipe		Mali
Mozambique		Botswana	Mauritania
Réunion		Lesotho	Niger
Rwanda		Namibia	Nigeria
Seychelles*		South Africa	Saint Helena ³ *
Somalia		Swaziland	Senegal
Uganda			Sierra Leone
United Republic of Tanzania ⁴			Togo
Zambia			
Zimbabwe			

¹ Including Southern Sudan which voted in favor of independence, but was not an official UN Member State as of May 2011 ² Including Agalega, Rodrigues, and Saint Brandon.

³ Including Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha.

⁴ Including Zanzibar.

CLASSIFICATION OF COUNTRIES (continued)

Asia

Eastern Asia ⁵	South-Central Asia ⁶	outh-Central Asia ⁶ South-Eastern Asia		
	Central Asia			
China ⁷	Kazakhstan	Brunei Darussalam	Armenia	
China, Hong Kong SAR ⁸	Kyrgyzstan	Cambodia	Azerbaijan ⁹	
China, Macao SAR 10	Tajikistan	Indonesia	Bahrain	
Democratic People's	Turkmenistan	Lao People's Democratic	Cyprus ¹¹	
Republic of Korea	Uzbekistan	Republic	Georgia ¹²	
Japan		Malaysia ¹³	Iraq	
Mongolia	Southern Asia	Myanmar	Israel	
Republic of Korea		Philippines	Jordan	
	Afghanistan	Singapore	Kuwait	
	Bangladesh	Thailand	Lebanon	
	Bhutan	Timor-Leste	Occupied Palestinian	
	India	Viet Nam	Territory ¹⁴	
	Iran (Islamic Republic of)		Oman	
	Maldives ¹⁵		Qatar	
	Nepal		Saudi Arabia	
	Pakistan		Syrian Arab Republic	
	Sri Lanka		Turkey	
	U		United Arab Emirates	
	Yemen			

Includes other non-specified areas
 The regions Southern Asia and Central Asia are combined into South-Central Asia.
 For statistical purposes, the data for China do not include Hong Kong and Macao, Special Administrative Regions (SAR) of China.
 As of 1 July 1997, Hong Kong became a Special Administrative Region (SAR) of China.
 Including Nagorno-Karabakh.
 As of 20 December 1999, Macao became a Special Administrative Region (SAR) of China.
 Including Northern-Cyprus.
 Including Abkhazia and South Ossetia
 Including Sabah and Sarawak.
 Including East Jerusalem.
 Including Transnistria.

CLASSIFICATION OF COUNTRIES (continued)

Europe

Eastern Europe	Northern Europe	Southern Europe	Western Europe	
Belarus	Channel Islands ¹⁶	Albania	Austria	
Bulgaria	Denmark	Andorra*	Belgium	
Czech Republic	Estonia	a Bosnia and Herzegovina		
Hungary	Faeroe Islands*	Croatia	Germany	
Poland	Finland ¹⁷	Gibraltar*	Liechtenstein*	
Republic of Moldova	Iceland	Greece	Luxembourg	
Romania	Ireland	Holy See ¹⁸ *	Monaco*	
Russian Federation	Isle of Man*	Italy	Netherlands	
Slovakia	Latvia	Malta	Switzerland	
Ukraine	Lithuania	Montenegro		
	Norway ¹⁹	Portugal		
	Sweden	San Marino*		
	United Kingdom of Great	Serbia ²⁰		
	Britain and Northern	Slovenia		
	Ireland ²¹	Spain ²²		
		The former Yugoslav		
		Republic of Macedonia ²³		

Refers to Guernsey, and Jersey.
 Including Åland Islands.
 Refers to the Vatican City State.
 Including Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands.
 Including Kosovo.
 Also referred to as United Kingdom.
 Including Canary Islands, Ceuta and Melilla
 Also referred to as TFYR Macedonia.

Latin America and the Caribbean

Caribbean Central America South America

Anguilla* Belize Argentina Antigua and Barbuda* Costa Rica Bolivia Aruba El Salvador Brazil Chile Bahamas Guatemala Barbados Colombia Honduras British Virgin Islands* Mexico Ecuador

Cayman Islands* Falkland Islands (Malvinas)* Nicaragua

Cuba Panama French Guiana

Dominica* Guyana Dominican Republic Paraguay Grenada Peru Guadeloupe²⁴ Suriname Haiti Uruguay

Jamaica Venezuela (Bolivarian Rep. of) Martinique

Netherlands Antilles²⁵

Puerto Rico

Montserrat*

Saint Kitts and Nevis*

Saint Lucia

Saint Vincent and the

Grenadines

Trinidad and Tobago Turks and Caicos Islands* United States Virgin

Islands

 ²⁴ Including Saint-Barthélemy and Saint-Martin (French part).
 ²⁵ Refers to Curação, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius

Northern America

Bermuda* Canada Greenland* Saint Pierre and Miquelon* United States of America

Oceania

Australia/New Zealand	Melanesia	Micronesia	Polynesia ²⁶
Australia ²⁷	Fiji	Guam	American Samoa*
New Zealand	New Caledonia	Kiribati*	Cook Islands*
	Papua New Guinea	Marshall Islands*	French Polynesia
	Solomon Islands	Micronesia	Niue*
	Vanuatu	(Federated States of)	Samoa
		Nauru*	Tokelau*
		Northern Mariana Islands*	Tonga
		Palau*	Tuvalu*
			Wallis and Futuna Islands*

Sub-Saharan Africa

Angola	Côte d'Ivoire	Kenya	Niger	Sudan
Benin	Democratic Republic	Lesotho	Nigeria	Swaziland
Botswana	of the Congo	Liberia	Réunion	Togo
Burkina Faso	Djibouti	Madagascar	Rwanda	Uganda
Burundi	Equatorial Guinea	Malawi	Saint Helena	United Republic
Cameroon	Eritrea	Mali	São Tomé and Príncipe	of Tanzania
Cape Verde	Ethiopia	Mauritania	Senegal	Zambia
Central African Republic	Gabon	Mauritius	Seychelles	Zimbabwe
Chad	Gambia	Mayotte	Sierra Leone	
Comoros	Ghana	Mozambique	Somalia	
Congo	Guinea	Namibia	South Africa	
	Guinea-Bissau			

NOTE: Countries with a population of less than 100,000 in 2010 are indicated by an asterisk (*).

 $^{^{26}}$ Including Pitcairn. 27 Including Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, and Norfolk Island.